Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Darin Stojanovic - Has found the love of playing competitive tennis

We caught up with Darin Stojanovic out of the franchise.  

Darin has played an amazing 54 matches in under a 1 year period of time. He started his journey during his early 40’s in the summer of 2022.

What do you love about tennis?

Tennis gives me the right balance in the amount of cardio while enjoying the sport.  I set goals and tennis keeps me mentally challenged.   The fun part is wearing the bright neon shirts.

How long have you participated in your league?

This is my first year that I started playing competitively in the leagues.

How did you first learn about it?

I started taking lessons at the Legacy Youth Tennis and Education.  After a few clinics, other players suggested I try Tennis Philly.

How often do you play?

I play three to four times a week. 

What do you like most about the league?

The players in the league tend to have a lot more experience and they always offer tips for other players to improve their game.

Tell us about your most memorable match(es).

My most memorable match is when I play someone with a similar skill level.  I played the longest two sets with my opponent over the summer.   I needed a two-point difference to win the first and second set.  After many deuces, in the second set, I hit a heavy backhand down his right side wide in the court to win the final point.  

Who are your favorite rivals in the league? Why?

I didn’t have that many repeat matches yet.  I will get there eventually.

Do you have any other interesting comments about your experiences with the league?

As the daylight slowly goes away in the evening games, we still keep playing for the love of the sport.

How did you get started playing tennis?

My parents started me with weekly tennis lessons after elementary school classes ended.

Do you play to compete, or for fun?

I want to compete and have fun at the same time!

What level player are you? (NTRP rating)


Who are your favorite pro players? Why?

Nadal and Federer. I enjoy the amazing shots that these two players make.  They also display good character during their matches and that is more important than winning the match.

Tell us a little bit about yourself, for example: What do you do? Where did you grow up? What are your hobbies?

I grew up abroad. Currently I reside in Philadelphia with my wife and two small Chihuahua mixes. I stay active with activities such a biking and taking the wife and dogs on the trail.  Travel for warm beaches is always on my mind such as south Florida.

No comments: